Enter the Morris/Nonfiction book trailer contest!

2010 Morris Award Finalists

Congratulations to this year’s 2010 Morris Award finalists for Debut Authors:

“Ash” by Malinda Lo, by published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
• “Beautiful Creatures” by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
“The Everafter” by Amy Huntley, published by Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
“Flash Burnout” by L.K. Madigan, published by Houghton Mifflin/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
“hold still” by Nina LaCour, published by Dutton Children’s Books, a Division of Penguin Young Readers Group

Congratulations to this year’s finalists for the brand-new 2010 Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults:

“Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream” by Tanya Lee Stone, published by Candlewick
“Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith” by Deborah Heiligman, published by Henry Holt Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group
“Claudette Colvin: Twice toward Justice” by Phillip Hoose, published by Melanie Kroupa Books/ Farrar Straus Giroux, an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group
“The Great and Only Barnum: The Tremendous and Stupendous Life of the Showman P. T. Barnum” by Candace Fleming, published by Schwartz & Wade Books/Random House
“Written in Bone: Buried Lives of Jamestown and Colonial Maryland” by Sally M. Walker, published by Carolrhoda/Lerner

The winning titles for both awards, as well as Morris shortlist titles and YALSA Nonfiction Award winners at a free reception on Monday, Jan. 18 from 8-10 p.m. at Westin Copley Place Essex Center South.

Be creative and help promote these great books by taking part in the Morris/Nonfiction book trailer contest!

Teens ages 13-18 can make a 1-3 minute book trailer for any of the nominated books (or if they’d like, all of the nominees in one trailer), upload them to YouTube using the tags “yalsamorris” or “yalsanf,” and they can win a box of books and a $100 gift certificate to a major bookstore. Official rules, tips, and an entry form are available online (PDF). Book trailers must be uploaded to YouTube by Jan. 17. YALSA will name both winners at the Youth Media Awards in Boston at the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting on Jan. 18.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s