Top Teen Book Awards Announced

Going Bovine by Libba Bray 2010 Prinz Award Winner

Going Bovine by Libba Bray 2010 Prinz Award Winner

Recently, the Young Adult Library Association (YALSA) announced

a number of awards given to the best teen books of 2009.

The Prinz Award is given to the number one book exhibiting “literary excellence.” The winner, Going Bovine by Libba Bray follows the story of 16-year old Cameron who has been diagnosed with Creutzfeldt – Jakob disease (the human form of mad cow disease). This may be a challenging read for some but those that stick it out are in for a quirky road trip they won’t soon forget.

This YouTube book trailer will tell you a little bit more about Going Bovine.

Four Prinz honor books were selected:

Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman, The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey, Punkzilla by Adam Rapp, and Tales of the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973 by John Barnes.  I’m so happy that these books were honored.  I like them all!

YALSA now has an award for excellence in nonfiction writing for teens. Five riveting books were recognized. Charles and Emma took the top award. Almost Astronauts by Tanya Lee Stone, Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose, The Great and Only Barnum: The Tremendous, Stupendous Life of Showman P. T. Barnum by Candace Fleming, and Written in Bone: Buried Lives of Jamestown and Colonial Maryland by Sally M. Walker were chosen as honor books. These five books are different but each of them truly exemplifies the best in nonfiction. I highly recommend them.

I was personally involved with was the William Morris YA Debut Award. I was fortunate enough to serve on the selection committee along with eight other librarians and educators. It was an unbelievable experience. I read about 200 books. I had many great late reading nights and lively discussions. In December, we announced a shortlist of five outstanding first books (Ash by Malinda Lo, Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, The Everafter by Amy Huntley, Flash Burnout by L.K. Madigan and hold still by Nina LaCour. Last week, we announced the Morris Award Winner.  (Drum roll, please).  The winner is Flash Burnout. It’s a funny story about a boy with a girlfriend and a friend that’s a girl.

In my last post, I announced a video book trailer promoting the Morris and Nonfiction Awards.  I still haven’t learned who won but I’ve seen some good videos.  Check this one out.  It’s for The Everafter by Amy Huntley.

Yours Truly,

Gail Zachariah


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s